FAQ

You have a question for Hamburg Coding School? We might have the answer here. Check out our Frequently Asked Questions below.

Admission requirements

Fees and payment

Application and booking

Courses and schedule

Grants and discounts

Which prior knowledge do I need for your courses?

We offer two courses that require no prior knowledge in coding:
HTML and CSS and Learn to Code.
The other courses require at least some knowledge of coding. We clarify the exact requirements for each course on the website of the course.
For our course packages there is no prior knowledge required, because they each contain the course Learn to Code.

Do you have courses for children?

At the moment, we don’t offer any courses for children. We had courses for kids in the past, but made the experience that they bring little revenue while requiring more effort and resources. For financial reasons, we decided to stop offering children’s courses.

Can my child participate in your course?

Sometimes even young teenagers are smart enough to be able to participate in our entry-level courses (HTML and CSS or Learn to Code). One requirement, however, is that they have a good level of English. If you think your son or daughter should participate in one of our courses, we will make an appointment for an interview with the trainer. The trainer will have a chat with the child, and will then decide individually whether or not they should participate in the course. If you want to arrange that, write an email to contact@hamburgcodingschool.com, and tell us the age and prior knowledge of the child as well as the course you want them to participate in.

How much are your courses?

The duration of our courses can differ a lot, which is why the prices also vary. The course HTML and CSS is €640-820, and Learn to Code is €1200. Continuation courses can be more expensive. We list our prices at the end of each course website.
Should there be no price, then that’s because we are still planning that course. In that case, the content, schedule and duration is still subject to change, which is why we can’t put a price on it yet.

How much are your planned courses?

A planned course doesn’t have a price yet. That’s because the content, schedule and duration of the course may change while we are planning it out. You can register interest in a planned course at the end of the course page, and get an email as soon as we know the price for the ticket of that course.

Which payment methods do you accept?

In our booking system you can pay via bank transfer, credit card, SOFORT, giropay or gift voucher.

Can I pay the Full Stack program in installments?

With our Full Stack program you get all 5 courses and 6 workshops at a preferential price. Since not everyone wants to pay this amount at once, we offer payment in installments at no additional cost. Our most popular payment options are € 500 or € 1,000 per month, yet other splittings are also possible. At the moment, installments can only be paid by bank transfer. Simply write us an email.

How do I get the invoice for payment through my employer after I have registered?

Our booking system sends the automatically generated invoice only after receipt of payment. When paying by credit card, SOFORT or giropay, this is done immediately. If you need an invoice for your employer for bank transfer, we will be happy to generate it for you on request.

Why do I have to apply for the Full Stack program?

Recently, we have introduced an application process for the Full Stack program. We want to make sure your expectations and motivations coincide with our courses and scope of teaching. The application consists of an easy and quick to fill out form followed by a promptly arranged appointment where we can get to know each other.

Nobody else has booked a ticket for this course. Will this course take place if I book now?

Usually, our courses will take place as soon as we sold at least 3 tickets. If you are the only one who booked a ticket, we might have to cancel the course. In this case we will give you two options: we can book you over to the next course, or we will give you a full refund. It might be good to know that many tickets are often just booked a couple of days before the course starts, so that we don’t need to cancel the course.

How can I cancel a course?

Plans change. You can cancel your booked course free of charge up to 14 days prior. After that, a cancellation fee is due which is 50% of the full course price for cancellations 13 to 7 days and 100% less than 7 days before the start of the course. You can send us your cancellation by email or do it yourself via your booking link. You can read more about the rules of cancellations in our terms and conditions (Rücktritte - cancellation). Currently, the terms and conditions are available in German only.

Can I book the workshops of the Full Stack program separately?

In the past, we did offer the workshops separately as well. Currently, they can only be booked as part of the Full Stack program. If you are interested in a particular workshop, please feel free to contact us and we will see if there is a possibility for you to participate.

Can we book you for an in-house training at our company?

We are happy to come to you to hold a goal-oriented training at your company. Write us your desired topics and dates and we will prepare an individual offer.

Are the courses held in German or English?

In the course description you will find a note regarding the language. Most of our teachers speak German and English and hold the courses according to the participants’ language. Our Learn to Code course is always held in English.

Can I take a course again?

Yes, you can. If you booked a course, you are allowed to take this course again. This way, you can repeat topics, or do classes that you missed before. Note that this is only possible if there are enough free seats left, and if the course would take place anyway.

When do your courses take place?

Our courses are evening courses. A course usually takes several weeks, with 2 or 3 sessions a week, each of 2 or 3 hours. Classes usually start at 6pm.

How frequently does the Full Stack program start?

We offer the 6-months Full Stack program on a quarterly basis. Commonly, the start date is at the beginning of January, April, July and October.

Do courses take place during school holidays?

In order to keep our quarterly rhythm, our courses also take place during the school holidays of Hamburg. Nevertheless, we take a break on public holidays.

Do you offer courses in full-time?

Currently we only offer evening classes. The reason for that is that our trainers are software developers who work on a full-time job during the day.

How can I get an impression of the school in person?

Get to know us in person. By appointment Jonas welcomes you to a course consultation. There you get a first picture of our premises. Periodically, we offer free info events and trial lessons. Or take part in a Meetup!

I have technical questions. Can I talk to a trainer?

Yes, certainly. Send an email with your question where you mention the respective course to Eva (eva@hamburgcodingschool.com) from customer support. She will arrange that the respective trainer will get your questions and send you a reply.

Can I book your courses as educational leave (Bildungsurlaub)?

Educational leave (“Bildungsurlaub”, a week of legally recognized, funded educational leave in Germany) we can’t offer at the moment. We know that many are interested in this, but since all of our trainers work on a normal daily job, it is hard for us to organize.

Can I use an educational voucher (Bildungsgutschein) for your courses?

At the moment, we are not accredited for the Bildungsgutschein (Germany’s government-funded educational voucher). We are looking into it, but the process is quite complicated, and we can’t say if and when we obtain the accreditation.

Are there any possibilities for grants for your courses?

There are other grants aside from the Bildungsgutschein. Grants with which we have already had experience are Bildungsprämie and Weiterbildungsbonus by Zwei P. They assist with half the course fee up to a maximum funding amount. Whether you as a person are eligible for these grants you have to clarify directly with the respective organization. We of Hamburg Coding School do not offer grants or sponsorships ourselves, but we can always split your payment into installments.

Where can I ask about grants?

Please contact the Weiterbildungstelefon von Weiterbildung Hamburg e.V. The consultants there are very knowledgeable and can take into account your situation and suggest suitable grants much more comprehensively than we ever could.

How do I get a written offer to apply for a grant?

Some grants require a detailed offer from the training provider. Just send us an email and we will prepare the written offer for you.

Do you have student discounts?

No, we don’t have student discounts. Sometimes we offer other temporary discounts to the readers of our newsletter (sign up).

Do you have any other question?

Please write me, I will get back to you as soon as possible.
eva@hamburgcodingschool.com

Eva Louise Dressel from our customer service.

FAQ

Hast du eine Frage an Hamburg Coding School? Vielleicht haben wir die Antwort bereits parat. Hier findest du die Antworten auf unsere Frequently Asked Questions.

Teilnahmevoraussetzung

Preise und Zahlungsarten

Bewerbung und Buchung

Kursteilnahme und Ablauf

Förderung und Rabatt

Welche Vorkenntnisse braucht man für eure Kurse?

Wir haben zwei Kurse, für die man überhaupt keine Vorkenntnisse braucht:
HTML und CSS und Learn to Code.
Für alle anderen Kurse braucht man ein wenig Vorkenntnisse. Die erklären wir immer genau auf der entsprechenden Seite vom Kurs.
Wenn man ein ganzes Kurs-Paket buchen möchte, braucht man keine Vorkenntnisse, weil die Kurs-Pakete immer den Kurs Learn to Code beinhalten.

Habt ihr Kurse für Kinder?

Momentan bieten wir leider keine Kurse für Kinder mehr an. Wir konnten unsere Kinder-Kurse aus finanzieller Sicht nicht weiterführen und mussten uns auf unsere Kurse für Erwachsene beschränken.

Kann mein Kind an eurem Einsteiger-Kurs teilnehmen?

Manchmal sind bereits 6-Klässler so intelligent, dass sie ohne Probleme an einem Einsteigerkurs (HTML und CSS oder Learn to Code) teilnehmen können. Allerdings muss das Kind gute Englisch-Kenntnisse haben. Um zu klären, ob das Kind am Kurs teilnehmen kann, würden wir ein Treffen mit dem Dozenten arrangieren, damit er einschätzen kann, ob eine Teilnahme sinnvoll ist. Bei Interesse könnt ihr uns gern eine Email an contact@hamburgcodingschool.com schreiben, und uns den gewünschten Kurs, das Alter des Kindes und etwaige Vorkenntnisse angeben.

Was kosten eure Kurse?

Unsere Kurse sind von sehr unterschiedlicher Länge, und haben deswegen sehr unterschiedliche Preise. Der Kurs HTML und CSS kostet 640-820€, und Learn to Code kostet 1200€. Die Folgekurse sind meistens teurer. Der Preis wird immer am unteren Ende der Kurs-Seite angezeigt.
Sollte es noch keine Kurs-Preise geben, ist der Kurs noch in Planung. Weil sich bei solchen Kursen die Inhalte und die Länge noch ändern können, können wir dazu auch noch keine Preise angeben.

Was kosten die Kurse, die noch in Planung sind?

Die Kurse, die noch in Planung sind, haben noch keinen Preis. Weil sich der Kursinhalt und die Länge des Kurses noch ändern können, können wir auch noch keine Aussage zu einem Preis machen. Wenn ihr euch am Ende der Kurs-Seite auf der Interessenten-Liste eintragt, bekommt ihr aber eine Email, sobald wir den Preis des Kurses wissen.

Welche Zahlungsarten akzeptiert ihr?

In unserem Buchungssystem kannst du mit Überweisung, Kreditkarte, SOFORT, giropay oder Geschenkgutschein bezahlen.

Kann ich das Full Stack Programm in Raten bezahlen?

Mit unserem Full Stack Programm erhältst du alle 5 Kurse und 6 Workshops zum Vorteilspreis. Da nicht jeder diese Summe auf einmal bezahlen möchte, bieten wir Teilzahlungen ohne Zusatzkosten an. Unsere Beliebtesten Zahlungsoptionen sind 500€ oder 1.000€ pro Monat, aber auch andere Aufteilungen sind möglich. Derzeit bieten wir Teilzahlungen nur mit Überweisung an. Schreib uns ganz einfach eine Email.

Wie bekomme ich die Rechnung zur Überweisung durch meinen Arbeitgeber nachdem ich mich angemeldet habe?

Unser Buchungssystem versendet die automatisch generierte Rechnung erst nach Zahlungseingang. Bei Zahlung per Kreditkarte, SOFORT oder giropay erfolgt dies sofort. Solltest du für die Überweisung durch deinen Arbeitgeber eine Rechnung benötigen, erstellen wir dir diese gerne auf deine Nachfrage.

Warum muss ich mich auf das Full Stack Programm bewerben?

Die vorgezogene Bewerbung für das Full Stack Programm ist neu. Wir möchten dadurch herausfinden, dass sich deine Erwartungen und Motivationen mit unseren Kursinhalten und Unterrichtsumfang decken. Das Bewerbungsformular ist leicht und schnell auszufüllen. Anschließend vereinbaren wir zeitnah einen Termin mit dir, bei dem wir uns gegenseitig kennenlernen.

Es wurden noch keine Tickets gebucht. Findet der Kurs trotzdem statt, wenn ich jetzt buche?

Unsere Kurse finden normalerweise statt, wenn es mindestens 3 Teilnehmer gibt. Wenn du die einzige Person bist, die gebucht hat, müssten wir den Kurs dann leider absagen. In diesem Fall würden wir dir aber zwei Möglichkeiten zur Auswahl geben: Du kannst entweder auf den nächsten Kurs umgebucht werden, oder bekommst den kompletten Betrag zurückerstattet. Es kommt aber oft vor, dass unsere Kurse erst kurz vor Start gebucht werden, so dass der Kurs meistens noch zustande kommt.

Wie kann ich einen Kurs stornieren?

Pläne ändern sich. Du kannst deinen gebuchten Kurs bis 14 Tage vor Kursbeginn kostenlos stornieren. Danach wird eine Stornierungsgebühr fällig, die zwischen 13 und 7 Tagen vor Kursbeginn 50% und bei weniger als 7 Tagen 100% des Kurspreises beträgt. Deine Absage kannst du uns per Email zukommen lassen oder über deinen Buchungslink selber vornehmen. Weiteres zur Regelung von Stornierungen kannst du in unsere AGB (Rücktritte) nachlesen.

Kann ich die Workshops des Full Stack Programms auch einzeln buchen?

In der Vergangenheit haben wir die Workshops auch einzeln angeboten. Aktuell sind sie nur im Rahmen des Full Stack Programms buchbar. Falls dich ein bestimmter Workshop interessiert kannst du gerne mit uns Kontakt aufnehmen und wir schauen, ob es eine Teilnahmemöglichkeit für dich gibt.

Können wir euch für eine in-house Schulung in unserer Firma buchen?

Wir kommen gerne zu euch in die Firma, um euch zielgerichtet weiterzubilden. Schreibt uns eure Themen- und Terminwünsche und wir bereiten ein individuelles Angebot vor.

Sind die Kurse auf Deutsch oder Englisch?

In der Kursbeschreibung findest du eine Anmerkung zur Unterrichtssprache. Die meisten unserer Dozenten sprechen Deutsch und Englisch und halten die Kurse wie es das Sprachniveau der Teilnehmer ergibt. Unser Learn to Code Kurs wird immer auf Englisch gehalten.

Kann ich einen Kurs wiederholen?

Ja, das kannst du. Wer einen Kurs gebucht hat, kann den Kurs wiederholen, sobald er erneut angeboten wird. So kannst du den erlernten Stoff wiederholen, oder verpasste Unterrichtsstunden nachholen. Beachte, dass das nur möglich ist, wenn noch genügend Plätze verfügbar sind, und der Kurs zustande kommt.

Wann finden eure Kurse immer statt?

Unsere Kurse sind Abendkurse. Ein Kurs geht meistens über mehrere Wochen und findet 2 oder 3 mal pro Woche in Sessions von 2 - 3 Stunden statt, meistens ab 18:00 Uhr.

Wie regelmäßig startet das Full Stack Programm?

Wir bieten das 6-monatige Full Stack Programm vierteljährlich an. Starttermin ist jeweils Anfang Januar, April, Juli und Oktober.

Finden die Kurse auch in den Schulferien statt?

Um unseren vierteljährlichen Rhythmus einzuhalten, finden unsere Kurse auch in den Hamburger Schulferien statt. An gesetzlichen Feiertagen machen auch wir eine Pause.

Habt ihr Kurse, die in Vollzeit stattfinden?

Unsere Kurse finden momentan nur als Abendkurse statt. Das hat den Hintergrund, dass unsere Dozenten alle hauptberufliche Softwareentwickler sind, und tagsüber arbeiten müssen.

Welche Möglichkeiten habe ich, mir ein persönliches Bild von der Schule zu machen?

Lerne uns persönlich kennen. Nach Vereinbarung empfängt dich Jonas zur Kursberatung. Hier bekommst du bereits ein erstes Bild von unseren Räumlichkeiten. In regelmäßigen Abständen bieten wir kostenlose Infoveranstaltungen und Probestunden an. Oder nehme teil an einem Meetup!

Ich habe inhaltliche Fragen. Kann ich mit einem Dozenten sprechen?

Ja, kannst du. Schreib dafür deine Fragen an Eva, die unseren Kundensupport macht (eva@hamburgcodingschool.com), und sag ihr um welchen Kurs es sich handelt. Sie kümmert sich dann darum, dass der entsprechende Dozent deine Fragen bekommt und sie dir beantwortet.

Kann ich eure Kurse als Bildungsurlaub buchen?

Bildungsurlaub können wir momentan nicht anbieten. Wir wissen, dass das viele gern in Anspruch nehmen würden, aber da unsere Dozenten alle hauptberufliche Softwareentwickler sind, und tagsüber arbeiten müssen, lässt sich das momentan schwer realisieren.

Kann man eure Kurse mit dem Bildungsgutschein belegen?

Wir sind momentan noch nicht für den Bildungsgutschein akkreditiert. Wir streben an, das in der Zukunft anzubieten, können aber noch nicht sagen, wann das sein wird.

Gibt es eine Fördermöglichkeit für eure Kurse?

Es gibt auch andere Fördermöglichkeiten als den Bildungsgutschein. Förderungen, mit denen wir bereits Erfahrung gesammelt haben, sind die Bildungsprämie und der Weiterbildungsbonus von Zwei P. Sie unterstützen dich mit der Hälfte der Kursgebühr bis zu einer maximalen Fördersumme. Ob du als Person die Voraussetzung für die Förderung erfüllst, musst du direkt mit der jeweiligen Organisation klären. Wir von der Hamburg Coding School bieten selbst keine Förderung an. Eine Splittung in Teilzahlungen ist aber immer möglich.

Wo kann ich mich zu Fördermöglichkeiten beraten lassen?

Wende dich gerne an das Weiterbildungstelefon von Weiterbildung Hamburg e.V.. Die Berater dort kennen sich bestens aus und können viel umfassender als wir eure jeweilige Situation berücksichtigen und geeignete Fördermöglichkeiten vorschlagen.

Wie bekomme ein Angebot, um mich auf eine Förderung zu bewerben?

Manche Förderangebote wünschen ein detailliertes Angebot vom Bildungsträger. Schreib uns ganz einfach eine Email und wir erstellen dir ein Angebot.

Gibt es Studentenrabatt für eure Kurse?

Nein, bei uns gibt es keine Studentenpreise. Manchmal gibt es jedoch Rabatte, die wir hin und wieder über unseren Newsletter (eintragen) bekannt machen.

Hast du noch andere Fragen?

Frag mich gerne, ich melde mich so schnell wie möglich bei dir zurück.
eva@hamburgcodingschool.com

Eva Louise Dressel macht unsere Kundenbetreuung.